I was just thinking about how it was unntil fairly recent times for women. My grandmother was raised in the Masonic Orphanage and I don’t know what they were taught about menstruation and pregnancy, but when my Aunt Nell was married at 15 and expecting her first child by the time she was 16, she asked my grandmother to tell her what to expect and my grandmother told her that nice women didn’t discuss these things. Luckly, her older sister, my mother, was mamrried and anurse, although she had no children of her own at that time, and was able to givve her some information.

However, about 20 years later when it was time for e to learn about menstruation, I learned from a film they showed all the girls in 4th grade. They told us not to discuss it with the boys or to discuss  that subject, ever. The boys had a film too, and to this day I have no idea what it was about. My other never discussed my periods or anything about sex with me, although I did someow acquire a Campfire Girls book that had to have been written bbefore 1935, becaue the series ended then, which informed me that kissing and making out in cars with all your clothes on could lead to p regnancy. That was pretty confusing for a while. But  I got the real   info from my older couins and other books by the time I needed it.